New Trainers – Perfect way to get out of a lull

About a week I lasted after the London Marathon before I felt like I needed to get running again. I had promised myself 2 weeks off from it. But I couldn’t do it, I couldn’t last that long without running.

I went out and did 2 miles… my god it was tough, Urgh!

Anyway, not long after this run I was contacted by someone regarding new free trainers… WOW! I’ve had freebie offers in the past in return for a review, but never something that I’ve actually needed. As I’d blogged before the marathon that my current pair were near the end of their life this came just at the right time.

Sports Direct were the company who would be provided the new shoes, having ordered from them in the past I knew I was going to get them quickly. By the time I was up to going out for my next run then end of that week my new running shoes had arrived.

My shoes of choice, Asics Gel Oberon 5 – Black and Red.
image

My first run in them, clocked a comfortable 5 miles! Obviously as a mental barrier the new trainers helped. 3 weeks on and I’m already in training for my next marathon in 10 weeks.

Being a regular Asics user, and having a neutral running gait I opted for the standard cushioned fit. They’re great, no aches or pains. More importantly no blisters! These are my trainers of choice for my shorter mid-week training runs. I’ll use my other pair of Asics for the Longer weekend runs and the ‘tin foil medal’ marathon run.

About Jay McNeill

A Husband, father of twins, who works full time and tries his best to be a good dad, husband, runner and a gamer!
This entry was posted in Marathon, Review, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Trainers – Perfect way to get out of a lull

  1. I’d love someone to give me free trainers!!

  2. Sonia says:

    Hey Phil, keep running and working on your blog, a Sports Direct Santa might contact you in the future :)

  3. haveyoumetsonia.co.uk says:

    Hey Phil, keep running and working on your blog, a Sports Direct Santa might contact you in the future

  4. Pingback: I said I would yesterday, so I had too (run) « Jay McNeill's Blog

Leave a Reply

