Running a marathon

London marathon weekend. Twitter is bustling with talk of people going nuts through tapering. On their way to collect their numbers from the expo. Arranging where to meet for a pre race pasta party.

It’s all brought memories back from last year.

This year I decided not to enter the London marathon thinking I’d enter another one. Start of 2013 came about and I decided I wouldn’t officially run a marathon but would instead focus on the half marathon sub 2 hour time.

I offerer to help my friend though train for his London marathon place (which he’s now pulled out of because of injury). But I didn’t want to let the training go to waste, so I decided this weekend I’d run a marathon myself, around where I live.

It’s an idea I’ve toyed with for awhile.

There won’t be a crowd to cheer me on. No medal at the end. Just being able to do it, and for those in Boston tomorrow I’ll complete the 26.2 miles!

Lastly good luck to all those running the 2013 London marathon on Sunday. Run strong, run brave, run smart. But have fun and enjoy the day!

About Jay McNeill

A Husband, father of twins, who works full time and tries his best to be a good dad, husband, runner and a gamer!
This entry was posted in Marathon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running a marathon

  1. Debs (@mrsjackcabnory) says:

    Good luck with your marathon hun. X

  2. Enjoy it mate! You have your trophies at home waiting for you when you get back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

