I nearly worked for Sony.

Yeah that’s right I turned down Sony.

The summer of 2007 I was unemployed went for an interview at studio Liverpool. A temporary games tester was the position I applied for, not a well paid position but as people may or may not know its a foot in the door of the game industry.

The interview was as you’d expect, tell them about your interest in games and why you want to work for Sony etc.

Practical side of the interview consisted on playing a very early build of a very early F1 game that the studio had released. Write down as many issues as possible. For example, a car being invisible on the starting grid, or selecting an option makes the game freeze.

Now I left the building feeling pretty confident with my performance, I just had to wait for the call.

A couple of days later I got a phone call, offering me the job…. I said no.

Here is why, in between the interview and being offered the job my wife found out she was pregnant. This meant one thing, I’d have to get a full-time permanent job.

I couldn’t afford to take the chance on a temporary position, and one where I would have been working between the hours of 6pm – midnight Monday – Friday. I wanted to be available incase I was needed to do a hospital run etc. So when Sony rang to offer me the job it was with great sadness that I had to turn down my dream job.

About Jay McNeill

A Husband, father of twins, who works full time and tries his best to be a good dad, husband, runner and a gamer!
This entry was posted in Family, Gaming, Sony, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I nearly worked for Sony.

  1. Sharon says:

    I think you did the right thing 🙂

Leave a comment